Blackboard Orientation

This brief series of introductory videos walks students through the basics of logging into and using Blackboard.   

Blackboard - Logging in and Navigation

Blackboard is the heart of your online education experience at Detroit Mercy. In the following video, we walk through the basics of Blackboard outside your course site. We look at logging in, navigating, and setting some of the preferences that let you customize how you appear on the site.

 

Who Has Access to Blackboard

All current Detroit Mercy students, faculty, staff, and administrators have access to Blackboard.

Student accounts are created after the student registers for a course in self-service, at the next 2-hour Blackboard update window.

Student Blackboard accounts are deactivated after one term of not being registered. This means a student who took classes in the Winter Term will continue to have Blackboard access through the summer, even if they have not registered for Fall. But if they still have not registered by the start of the Fall term, their account will be deactivated. 

Students who need their Blackboard account reactivated (so that they may complete coursework, for example) should have their faculty contact the Office of Digital Education to make the request. 

Introduction to Classic Course Sites

Blackboard course sites come in two styles -- Classic and Ultra. Many of your courses will be presented in the classic style. This video introduces the basics of navigating a classic style course, including how to submit an assignment and find graded assignments and feedback -

 

Introduction to Ultra Course Sites

Ultra-style course sites function a little differently than classic style course sites. This video introduces the ultra-style course site. This shows how to get around an ultra-style course site. We also cover how to submit an assignment and find and view feedback.