Who Has Access to Blackboard

All current Detroit Mercy students, faculty, staff, and administrators have access to Blackboard.

Student accounts are created after the student registers for a course in self-service, at the next 2-hour Blackboard update window.

Student Blackboard accounts are deactivated after one term of not being registered. This means a student who took classes in the Winter Term will continue to have Blackboard access through the summer, even if they have not registered for Fall. But if they still have not registered by the start of the Fall term, their account will be deactivated. 

Students who need their Blackboard account reactivated (so that they may complete coursework, for example) should have their faculty contact the Office of Digital Education to make the request.